Education News

How members of Congress, governors, and candidates tipped their hats to #ThankATeacher

It’s fitting that a number of pro-public education candidates and state and federal office holders made it a priority to recognize educators during National Teacher Appreciation Week, May 7-11. Take a look at how they gave a shout out to educators across the country, and reflected on how their favorite teachers influenced their lives.

U.S. Sen. Tina Smith, Minnesota, posted a thread about some of the teachers who influenced her, along with an endearing photo from junior high!

U.S. Sen. Tammy Baldwin, Wisconsin, gave a heartfelt thanks via video, and a thread of tweets thanking the teachers who prepared her for a career in public service.

Gretchen Whitmer–the daughter and granddaughter of educators who is now running for governor of Michigan–gave a heartfelt thanks and reiterated her lifelong commitment to public schools and supporting educators.

U.S. Sen. Heidi Heitkamp, North Dakota, also decided to show her appreciation in person.

Here are some more shoutouts by other elected leaders:
U.S. Sen. Joe Donnelly, Indiana

U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown, Ohio

Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf

Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards

U.S. Rep. Jacky Rosen, Nevada

2 responses to “How members of Congress, governors, and candidates tipped their hats to #ThankATeacher

  1. Teachers are America’s future. But With all the appreciation, let’s not forget our special ed educators. These Students too have much potential and we must always recognize them as we celebrate and appreciate our teachers.

  2. Thank You Mrs Feltenstein, Thank you Mrs Paul’s,Thank U Mrs Sherry and Sheila Cohen, Ms Meyers, Ms BErry ,Mrs Deitz, Mr Ankowitz, Mr Sullivan,Mrs Morris, Ms Carroll , Mr nenphertti, At Central School! Mr and Mrs clotting, Mr and Mrs Turits ,Mr Aiello, and Mr Boyer, and the others At Hommocks School and At Mamaroneck High School Mr Archambault, Mrs Kennelly,Mrs Aucthelonie, Mr Ippolitto, Ms Gonzalez, Mr Barnie Gill ,Mr Diggenaro, Mrs Sper, Mr Restaino, Mr Al Phillips, Ms Turner, Mrs Minor, Mr Roush Mr Thomas Tiktin principal Mr Markowitz and Mr Burnham guidance counselors , Mrs Barbra Manning , Mrs Laurie Miranda guidance department secretaries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *